Welcome from the Captains

Welcome to Hermitage Golf Club from Club Captains Brendan Coffey and Cathy Counihan.

Hermitage Golf Club was founded in 1905. Under  the Management of Head Greenkeeper Mark Harrington the course has been awarded Best Parkland Course in 2013, 2016 and 2017.   It is situated 10km from Dublin City centre and is an oasis hidden away from the busy world outside.  Hermitage is also considered to be among the one hundred best courses in Ireland. 

We have held many International events over the years and hosted some distinguished guests including Bing Crosby, Prince Rainier and President Hillery.    Padraig Harrington is a regular visitor and Rory McIlroy who played here in 2015 said “ I had a most enjoyable game of golf with friends at Hermitage this summer.   The course was a real challenge and the greens were of  a quality only seen on tour”.    Former Ryder Cup Captains have also enjoyed their visits to Hermitage such as Seve Ballesteros, Colin Montgomerie, Ian Woosnam and Paul Mc Ginley.

Among the Hermitage Ladies Scratch Cup winners we count Mary McKenna (a nine times winner) and our own Ciara Casey who has won back-to-back over the last two years.    Not forgetting Catriona Matthew (nee Lambert), from Scotland, who won the cup in 1993. Catriona won the Ladies British Open and was a vice-captain and player in the recent Solheim Cup.  Catriona captained the Solheim Cup in 2019.

Hermitage is famous for its Bar and Restaurant where you can regale your friends with stories over a drink or a meal.    Our General Manager Eddie Farrell would only be too pleased to look after your needs.

Simon Byrne, our golf Professional runs an excellent Pro shop and is on hand to give lessons and run the tee times.    

We at Hermitage look forward to welcoming you and wish you an enjoyable experience.

Brendan and Cathy

2021 Captain
Brendan Coffey
2021 Lady Captain
Cathy Counihan
President 2020/21
Ian O'Herlihy
Junior Boys Captain 2020
Dylan O'Keeffe
Junior Girls Captain 2020
Tara Hollowed
Read more